Getting Comfy in my new Home…

Last year was a good year. This year is going to be fantastic. I’ve learned about what I’m capable of and how far my skills have grown and I felt really inspired to actually try and do something about it. I did my best to wrap things up by the end of the year to start this one fresh with new work, new goals, new work ethic and drive…Overall, I’m very excited about what the future has in store.

Before I move onto the new, I’d like to address some of the things I took out of the last year. I felt like it was “shit or get off the pot” time with my art and writing sometime in September. I’ve always kinda been thinking, “Wouldn’t it be awesome if I was a comic artist or a novelist?” without ever really doing anything about it. Sure, I draw a lot and there are like a million different little story ideas scattered about my computer, but nothing was really going anywhere.

It was my mentality that was killing me. They say, “nothing ever just happens,” and I feel like that was just what I was waiting for. For something to just magically happen. For a fully formed book to just appear in my lap, ready to hit the shelves. That’s what November was all about for me. National Novel Writer’s Month. If I could finish just that much work, 50k worth of first draft or outline, then that would prove that I even had the potential of having the work ethic necessary to be a novelist.  November was hard, damn hard, and we dealt with a lot of hardship. I finished, despite the fact that my mother-in-law died in the middle of the month and the terrible sadness felt by the entire family. It was then, while working amidst our grief and pain and all the little distractions and time constraints that went along with something so terrible, that I realized I could do this.

My celebration was cut short, I received the news on December 1st that my grandmother had passed away. I rushed back to Texas and reconnected with family members I haven’t seen in years. Family is so important to me, so it was such a big thing. I really feel like I have a whole family again and I can’t begin to describe how amazing it is to know there are people there that do care about me.

One other neat thing, I’ve been battling a weight problem for a while, trying to get healthy again. I took initiative and lost 5% of my body weight from September to November and have been maintaining that loss ever since. I did it with changes in my eating habits. I found out recently that I had been fighting a losing battle, as apparently my thyroid was working against me. I’ve been on medication and the doctor says that it will be much easier to lose weight now, so I’m really excited to get into the gym.

And then, on December 24th, my boyfriend made our engagement official with a ring and we told his family. Its been a long time coming, but the moment was still just as sweet. Regardless of anyone or anything else, no matter how anyone may feel about the subject, we do want to spend the rest of our lives together.

So I had decided to do all these things with the new year and one of the first things that pops up is a job opportunity.  ( Hope this link works ) It’s pretty much everything I’d like in a job, so I pushed myself pretty hard core and sent them a letter. Over the span of four days, I retouched three pieces, completely repainted one more, and wrote, drew and painted two comic strips to show off, along with editing a script to show my writing style. Thats about the same amount of work I would have gotten done over the span of four or five months a year ago. And the picture I completely repainted looks amazing. I didn’t even know I had reached that level of skill yet. Old vrs. new. Whatever comes of it, I’ve already gained a lot from the experience. I have confidence in my work ethic, I feel like I’m finally getting close to where I want to be, or at least, that I know how to get there from here.

So, one of the ways I’m going to make sure to get to my goals this year, is to blog about the journey.  I’m really excited about it. I hope that we can learn from each other. ^.^

So, please bear with me as I try to figure out how to spruce this place up a little and get into my groove. Also, join me next time as I examine my goals for this year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

