On Writing Responsibly…

I’d like to start off by saying that I know I should write what I want and I do.

That being said, I still want to be a responsible writer. If I’m dealing with delicate issues, I want to make sure that I represent them well. I want all kinds of people to be able to relate to my stories, to empathize with them and be entertained by them. I don’t want people to walk away offended or feeling like I’ve contributed to some wide spread social issues. I don’t want to be a part of the problem…and there are so many problems.

I love Love stories, and I don’t mean romance novels. I just mean great stories with love at their core. I really like action, adventure, and fantasy, I tend to build my stories around that kind of thing, but at the heart of every story is love and working together. It doesn’t even have to be romantic love. Not everyone is into other people’s bits.

One of the things that bothered me growing up was the types of love stories being told. If I write a love story, I want it to be a Love+ story.

I just wish I had a “Bullshit” detector to point out the bullshit in whatever I come up with, lol.

Leave a Reply

