Excerpt from The Many Perils of Love at First Sight…

People began forming up and Sarai turned, stepped back and bowed at the man who caught her, “Thank you for catching me. Those jerks pushed me on their way up.” She spoke slowly and enunciated her words as best as she knew how.

“Aww, it was nothing. Any man would have done it.” He rubbed the back of his neck and Sarai could sense the gathering of energy filled blood flushing over his skin. She couldn’t help the soft smirk that quirked at his words; several men had moved out of the way to let her hit the dirt after all. This boy, though, vibrated with the same pure energy she’d seen from children. He was long past that age though, even if his friend standing beside him didn’t shine as purely in Sarai’s mind. The second boy had a firestorm going on under his skin, but it gave of a completely different feeling from the red head.

“So are you here to become Genkai’s disciple as well?” This came from the shorter boy, his voice held more than a hint of incredulity as he stared at the bandages that covered the top half of her face.

“Uh…I’m not sure. Is that why everyone else is here?” Sarai pondered the situation.

“WHAT?! You came and you don’t even know what the hell is going on?!” His voice was filled with energy and heat, like annoyance.

She touched the bandage on her face, “I’m cursed. I was hoping Genkai could either remove it, tell me more about it, or teach me how to live with it…”

“Oh wow, a curse, really?” That was the tall one again. “I’m here because I’m psychic and I want her to lower the levels so I don’t have to listen to ghosts and stuff anymore.”

Sarai raised her eyebrows, although it was hard to tell with the layers of white strips clinging to the skin above them. “Huh, I haven’t been around all that many haunted places. I bet that would get annoying after awhile.” She paused and then bowed suddenly, “By the way, I’m Sarai Mayfield. Pleased to meet you.”

“I’m Kazuma Kuwabara and this is Yusuke Urameshi.”

___________________________________________

This is from Chapter 3, start from the beginning here.

Leave a Reply

